Oklahoma is an “At-Fault” state when it comes to auto accidents. This means that the person who has been determined to be at fault for the accident is also responsible for the financial implications resulting from it. As such, the State of Oklahoma requires that drivers have an adequate liability insurance policy to cover claims from an accident. Please note, you are not required to have uninsured motorist or collision insurance on your vehicle.
The financial implications of an auto accident include the cost of treating the injuries of anyone hurt in the accident, the cost of lost wages an injured person may suffer because they can’t work, and the cost of repairing the damage to the vehicle(s) the driver hit. These costs can be staggering, and they can easily reach into the thousands and tens of thousands of dollars.
The policy must be written by an insurance company like the American Founders Insurance Group Inc., in Tulsa, OK, that is approved and licensed to do business in the state.
The Oklahoma Insurance Department has set certain minimum requirements that must be met to satisfy its auto liability insurance policy requirements. These requirements are referred to as 25/50/25 coverage. The policy amounts are broken down in the following manner:
If you choose to drive a vehicle that lacks liability coverage, you will not only be personally responsible for all costs associated with an accident, but if you get pulled over and don’t have proof of insurance, you can receive up to a $250 dollar fine, and/or up to 30 days in jail per violation. Your driver’s license might also get suspended, too.
You need to make sure you are properly insured. You should call American Founders Insurance Group Inc., of Tulsa, OK, to talk to an experienced and licensed agent about the types of coverage you need to protect you and your assets. Call us today.